Three awards will be presented at this year’s festival: the “EMAF Award” for a trend-setting work in Media Art, the “Dialogpreis” of the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs for the promotion of intercultural exchange and the "Preis der deutschen Filmkritik" for the best German experimental film.


  • Jury "EMAF-Award":
    Anna Anders (UdK, Berlin),
    Jan Schuijren (NMA Kurator, Amsterdam),
    Gabriel Soucheyre (Videoformes)
  • Jury "Dialogpreis" of the German Ministry of Foreign Affairs:
    Anna Anders,
    Jan Schuijren,
    Gabriel Soucheyre,
    Ludwig Linden (Ministry of Foreign Affairs)
  • Jury Verband der Deutschen Filmkritik:
    Marc Hairapetian,
    Leni Höllerer,
    Hans-Jürgen Tast


Commission "International film- and video-selection" of the EMAF 2008: Katja Albers, Steffi Gaus, Hermann Noering, Christine Rüffert and Ralf Sausmikat.


digital sparks 08
lab binaer: "Sensisphere"

The award-winners of "digital sparks 08" will  be presented at the EMAF for the first time this year. Students from 47 higher education institutions, academies and universities from Switzerland, Austria and Germany participated in the competition.

During the University Day selected projects of the competition “digital sparks 08” will be presented. The digital sparks competition has been realised since 2001 by the MARS-Exploratory Media Lab of the Fraunhofer IAIS under the direction of Monika Fleischmann and Wolfgang Strauss. The works from the competition entitled “rauschen & brausen” by Daniel Burckhardt and “Sensisphere” by lab binaer will be exhibited.

// Presentation at the University Day 24 April 2008, 4.30 pm

// Award ceremony for "Digital Sparks 2008" Saturday, April 26th at 20:30 h in the venue Lagerhalle. All information about the award: